Enko Photography Blog

July 25, 2008

Giveaway

Filed under: Designers,Fashion,Models,Photography,Published — enkophoto @ 7:03 pm

I had a fun shoot last week for MF Magazine, for their fall fashion giveaway. The magazine had a whole slew of items from independent designers, and made all the arrangements for models, stylists, and location, so I went in a bit blind. I basically showed up at the appointed time with my camera and gear, and did the lighting design on the fly.

We had six models and a mishmash of clothes to fit into a two-page spread, and a tight space to work in, so we went with a more “everyday” fashion look, and packed all six of them into the same shot. Directing six people wearing largely unrelated outfits, all in the same shot? Yeah, it was definitely different from my usual fashion shoot! Everyone on the shoot had good energy and was easy to work with, though, so we got some great shots for the magazine!

Our hairstylist was the amazing Kira Pinski, whom I first met at Portland Fashion Week, and whom I’d also turned loose on my unruly, in-between-length hair a couple weeks before! I love her work, and I was pumped when I learned that the magazine had booked her for the shoot. If you’re looking for a new hairstylist, I’ll gladly vouch for her haircutting skills. I’d been struggling with my hair for months, and she got the whole mess under control with the magic of her razor.

Also on the shoot was makeup artist Anna Webber, whom I’d heard about and seen online, but hadn’t yet worked with, so it was great to finally meet and work with her, too! She did a great job creating looks that were tailored to each model, without being overpowering.

I’d love to share some shots from the actual shoot with you, but we’re keeping a tighter lid on it until the issue comes out… so stay tuned for that!

–Sarah

Enko Photography – fashion and commercial photography out of Portland, Oregon

1 Comment »

  1. your life sounds so exciting.. fashion shoots, hob-nobbing,designer clothes.. i’mdon right envious!

    Comment by Mary Jenkins — July 26, 2008 @ 5:11 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

