Enko Photography Blog

September 3, 2008

Plus-Size Fashion

As much as I enjoy “straight-size” fashion, I’ve always had a soft spot for plus-size models. As a normal-sized woman who’d be considered “plus-size” by the fashion industry (plus models sometimes run as small as a US Size 8, when the average woman is Size 12!) I’ve always felt that there’s much more to beauty than what your average magazine likes to portray. There’s health, vitality, and beauty in all shapes and sizes, if you open yourself to it.

So, when I found Christine’s just-started online portfolio back in January, I was excited to set up a shoot with her. She had the striking face and gorgeous proportions that I felt really exemplified plus-size beauty, so I wanted to get it out there as much as I could!

And now, 7 months after shooting with her, I’m happy to congratulate her on her first published credit as a model! Christine was selected by PLUS Model Magazine to tell the world What She Loves About Her Curves in the new September issue, so readers across the country will be seeing her face, and hopefully taking a cue from her curvy-and-proud outlook!

The magazine also chose to use a photo from the shoot I did with her, so I’m also happy to congratulate hairstylist Amy Vaillancourt-Sals, clothing designer Leanonsidhe Reminiscent, and accessory designer Beauty and the Bead! I brought this team together with the hopes of pushing the boundaries and presenting a look not often seen in plus-size fashion, and it looks like we succeeded!

I’ll be working with Christine again soon, along with another amazing plus-size model, so I’m looking forward to keep putting new spins on full-figured beauty!

–Sarah

Enko Photography – fashion and commercial photography serving Portland, Oregon

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

